In Love with Zagreb

Wow! A lot of things have happened in the past few days. I’m in Croatia, and I love it! There is so much to do, and Zagreb is so beautiful I just want to stay!

 
Before I left Serbia though, we had two very interesting lectures. One was at the EU Integration office, and the other was from a Serbian publisher and writer. Unfortunately, I felt very sick the day of the two lectures and had to stay in bed all day, but I heard very interesting stories about the lectures. One of my friends said that EU Integration lecturer talked a lot about Kosovo, and how it’s a major issue that Serbia has to cope with before entering the EU. Even though the EU insists that Serbia needs to deal with Kosovo, five EU countries have not recognized Kosovo as a country because of their own issues with autonomous regions in their own countries. Therefore, maybe Kosovo should not be an issue for the EU because not all EU countries have recognized it as a country. From the second lecture, I heard that the publisher was very passionate about his work, and that it was very refreshing to see someone who is so passionate about his work.

 
On Wednesday, we drove to Zagreb, and on our way there we stopped in Vukovar. It’s a city in Croatia where there was lots of fighting during the Yugoslav Wars. It was really eerie to see buildings that had bullet holes in them and that had been set on fire on during the conflict. It was another of those moments where the history I had learned in the classroom became real to me and became it personal. Vukovar is now in this strange position where it’s trying to remember the past while trying to move forward. A lot of the buildings in the city have been remodeled, and before the conflict the city must have been very pretty. It is now, but every once in a while you see a war torn building.

 
On Saturday, I went to Plitvice Lakes National Park which is about an hour and a half from Zagreb. The park was so pretty!!! The water was so clear, and you could see lots of fish. I’ll let the picture speak for itself. ..


Today I went with a couple of friends to the Museum of Broken Relationships in Zagreb. It was one of the cutest museums I have ever been to! People from all over the world donate items which remind them of past relationships and next to every item there is a little story and how long the relationship lasted. There were sad, funny, and very touching stories. I’m so happy I went even though it made me miss my boyfriend back home so much.

 

We’re heading over to Sarajevo on Thursday. I’m really curious to see what Sarajevo will look like, but I’m not looking forward to the long drive from Zagreb…

