Two Weeks Out

Hello everyone. My name is Helen and I’m a junior majoring in Geography & Public Health here at the UW. I’m a little more than two weeks away from flying off to spend three months in India & Nepal this summer. This experience is going to be a mixture of personal travel and UW Study Abroad (the JSIS Environment & Development in the India Himalaya program). Even though my departure date (June 4th!) has been getting closer and closer, my mind has been so focused on this sprint to the end of Spring Quarter that I haven’t really given myself a moment to consider the impending reality of my life away from home this summer.

This will definitely be summer of firsts. The first time that I’ve studied abroad for more than a month. The first time I’ve been to SouthEast Asia. The first time that I’ve traveled on my own both before and after my official study abroad program. I have no doubt that there will be some serious adventures along the way, which will most likely be accompanied by some equally serious bumps.

I guess I’m as ready as I’m going to be. I have my vaccinations, my GIANT bag of medications from Hall Health, my beat up backpack, gallons of sunscreen, and my Hindi phrase book (though, to be fair, I butcher every word I try to say, which should make for some fun times when I want to get a taxi at the Delhi airport).

That’s all for now.  Namaste!

