Meet Ariel – University of Sydney

Hey guys, I’m Ariel Hay and am currently majoring in biochemistry. I LOOOOOVE animals, so my ultimate goal is to work with animals somehow. (Veterinary medicine? Animal rescue?) I hail from Bremerton, WA and until I left to come to Seattle to attend UW, I had lived in the same house my entire life. This summer, I will be traveling to Sydney to attend the University of Sydney for Winter semester (and I’m terrified and so excited all at once).

The most exciting part about going to Australia is hands down the wildlife. I will be traveling to the Northern coast to visit the Great Barrier Reef, and hopefully to the interior of Australia to visit the Outback. If I’m lucky, I will be able to take time to visit New Zealand as well. Admittedly, my motivations are fueled more by my desire to see the nature and landscape of Australia. Plus, I would love to hang out with a kangaroo. Or hold its babies. Or sneak into its pouch.

I thought this blog would be a great opportunity for me to share everything I’m doing – thoughts, reservations, photos and experiences – with all my friends and family. No guarantee how often I’ll have time to post, but I’ll do my best!