Where Women Glow and Men Plunder

I will officially be leaving for four-and-a-half  months around this time next month for my direct exchange program at the University of Sydney. Unfortunately, I’ve yet to find a place to live. The university offered me housing, but at $389 a week, I figure I’m probably better off trying to find lodging on my own. Worst case scenario, I’ll have to live in the desert and hunt rattlesnakes.

I will be arriving to the university on the day that I have to do orientation. Pre-orientation trips are the weekend before, so I’m pretty sad I’ll be missing out.

http://www.facebook.com/groups/227642850678217/250886791687156/?notif_t=group_comment_reply

The UW Buddy Club looks pretty promising for housing and for people to travel to New Zealand and the Barrier Reef with during breaks.  Quite frankly, I know next to nothing about traveling within Sydney, or Australia for that matter. Public transportation via Google Maps looks shoddy at best, but I’ll have to see when I get there.

The most terrifying part about going to Sydney is that I don’t know anyone there that I didn’t know before. There are friends of friends and new contacts, but for all intents and purposes, I’m on my own. But, how many people get a chance to do that in their lifetime? It’s exciting all at once. I’ve lived with a friend I’ve known since the fourth grade for the past three years, so I’ve never been forced to make friends or foisted into a situation where I had to meet new people. Here’s my chance. I think I’d be having more anxiety about it if I had to learn a new language, but since hello is “hello” and I know how to ask where the bathroom is, I think I’ll be fine.

The 15 hour plane ride is something else entirely. Hopefully Qantas will be merciful and give us lots of leg room. I’ll probably just eat out of boredom. Maybe a couple cans of Pringles, a tub of chocolate covered raisins, a stick of butter, possibly. (oooh, I wonder if they’ll serve Vegemite on the plane.)

38 days until departure!

