Meet Keezy – iSchool South Korea

Name:  Keezy Young
About me:   I’m from Jefferson County, out on the peninsula, P.O box middle-of-nowhere. When I was in grade three, I was chosen as a guide for the visiting Japanese delegates from our sister city, and that was the start of my interest in international relations; I just graduated from the Jackson School of International Studies this spring, with an area studies focus in East Asia.
Where in the world you are off to:  South Korea! I’ll be visiting Seoul, Daejon, Busan, and Jeju Island.
Why you chose this place:  A lot of my friends have gotten me interested in Korean culture. I love the food, the music, the fashions, and the technology. Of course I also studied the region’s politics, economics, and history through the Jackson School, and started learning the language this year as well.
What you are most excited about:  100% everything. I’m not even kidding. I don’t think I’ve been more excited about anything more in my life.
What your goals and motivations are:   I don’t really know yet! I want to travel, and learn languages, and meet lots of people. I like teaching. Hopefully I’ll leave this world surrounded by lots of friends and family…and maybe some students. And definitely a big shaggy dog.
What you hope readers gain from following your posts: I hope they’ll learn a little, laugh a bit, and be inspired to go on their own adventures if they haven’t already. I’ll be posting short comics as well as written posts, if things go as planned. Ultimately I want to keep a blog that entertains as well as educates, and allows space for some of the bizarre and silly things that can happen while having adventures, because those are the best moments, in my opinion.