Brigette goes to Prague

Hello everyone! My name is Brigette, and I’m a junior and psychology major here at UW. Although I haven’t received too many opportunities to travel, I’ve always loved it and have always been set on studying abroad sometime during my college career.

For this upcoming school year, I’ll be reporting to you all the way from Charles University. CU is located right in the center of Prague in the Czech Republic, and I can’t be more excited. First off, Prague has always sounded like a fascinating city and I have heard nothing but great things about the area/culture/etc. Second, seeing as I’ll be smack dab in the middle of Europe, I’ll have easiest access to most of the continent.

I’ll admit that even at the time I was applying I didn’t speak one word of Czech. This being said, one of my major goals this year is to feel comfortable speaking and understanding the language. Even though Czech is supposedly one of the harder languages for English speakers to learn, languages fascinate me and I am fully stoaked to take this one on.

I can’t think of just one thing I’m most excited about in particular, only because I have absolutely no idea of what to expect. I’m definitely looking forward to all the generic things like food, scenery, traveling, meeting new people, learning a new language, etc. I guess I would say that my overall excitement come from the idea of spending an entire year in a place that I know very little about. The most prominent travel experience I’ve had was probably working at a summer camp in Pennsylvania… sounds thrilling and foreign, I know. So, I’m fully looking forward to integrating myself into an entirely different culture.

The next three weeks (exactly!) are going to be spent in a chaotic flurry of packing, unpacking, and packing what I had just unpacked. Just lots of listening to Czech tapes my mom found online and overall readying myself for the big move.
Until then —
Brigette

