Amman Citadel جبل القلعة

ije 1

I didn’t really know what to do this weekend, so I decided to finally go see the citadel. Firstly, if you didn’t already know, once upon a time Amman was called Philadelphia after Ptolemy II Philadelphus. Seeing as I am from the Philadelphia area, I felt obligated to take a picture with the signs. Anyway, the citadel is over 7,000 years old and from the very top, you can see the majority of Amman. Weirdly enough, I think this would be a great place to have a picnic. Fun fact: The citadel is sometimes used for concerts and public forums.

ije 2Behind the Temple of Hercules, is the Jordan Archaeological Museum. It has really awesome pottery Unfortunately for me, the Dead Sea Scrolls had been moved to another museum, so I didn’t get to see them. I did get to see some pretty awesome coffins made of clay and shaped like a human. Unfortunately, I didn’t cross my mind to take any pictures of this, and now I regret it.

On a more positive note, this weekend I hope to go to the Roman Amphitheater for the Jerash festival. I’ll let you know how it is.

ije

wa-salam,

Ije

