The Golden Camel of بترا

Aviary Photo_130172719944844824

It was 110 degrees, I hadn’t eaten anything in 6 hours and I hadn’t had anything to drink in 10 hours. There was hot sand in my shoes and I had a Keffiyeh wrapped around my head to block the sun’s rays.  I was on an adventure, a mission of sorts to find the ancient city of بترا, a city lost 2,500 years ago when the city was under siege by an invading army, and the citizens fled. After the battle none of the surviving citizens would reveal the location of their holy city located in the hills nearby. I was going to find this city, with the help of locals who knew every grain of sand in the valley. As my camel came closer to the hills, my guide assured me we were close to the ancient city when all of the sudden………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

What you just read is not true, I’m sorry to deceive you but only 6 things in the previous paragraph are actually true. Do you know which? Well first off I did have sand in my shoes and I was wearing a Keffiyeh, however I wasn’t on a mission to find a holy city. In truth I was on a camel, with Bedouin guides in Wadi Rum a desert valley in the country of Jordan.  This may not sound as cool as a mission to find an ancient city but it felt like an adventure to me. An adventure which included taking trucks into the desert with Bedouin guides and a keffiyeh wrapped around my head to block the sun, but also just because it looked really hard coreAviary Photo_130172724181043474! Once into the desert I ran up a sand dune to see an amazing view of the Wadi (Valley) and then ran back down the  with my feet sinking into the sand feeling pretty amazing feeling. After this lovely break I took a ride on a camel!!! Now this is an extraordinary way to tour the Wadi, sitting high on top of a camel’s back with nothing but a beautiful view in my eyesight! This ride was finished when I climbed to the top of a desert mountain to watch the sunset, and as I watched the sun disappear underneath the horizon, as a rainbow of colors touched the earth I realized that my desert adventure had not come to an end but rather a lifelong adventure had just started!

That night as I wandered the desert with my friends looking up at the bright stars, and pointing out constellations I had seen laying on my trampoline at home, I couldn’t wait to see what the sunrise would bring, and what an amazing day the sunrise bought!

Aviary Photo_130172723382590906 (1015x761)I woke up to a delicious breakfast in a tent city, and two hours later I walked into an ancient city. No lie I walked into the ancient city of بترا, or as you may know it Petra. A city like no other, getting into Petra takes a long walk through the tall, narrow cavern walls of the desert hills then after a long walk you can see a shine, and then a sight like no other. The Treasury of Petra is completely carved into the wall of the hill, some say the treasury was built to track months, days, and seasons. Others say it was used to awe visitors coming into the city which I completely understand because I was definitely awed! As we walked through the city I saw tombs everywhere some small others enormous and elaborate, it was amazing to me that these people spent a large portion of their lives preparing for their death. I saw where sacrifices were performed, and caves carved into the wall where a priest would live. Petra is a city once filled with people like no one I’ve met before, and exploring their city was an experience I will never forget. I definitely won’t forget walking 800 steps up a narrow rocky path to the most amazing view; I thought I was seeing the whole world. At the top of the breathtaking walk, and I literally mean breathtaking because my friend had to push me a few times, I saw a sight that made the exhausting hike worth it. Known as the Monastery, though it never was this amazing temple stands 50 m high x 45 m wide. It is humongous and if there was a spot to see the world this would be it!!!! Sadly I eventually had to leave this ancient city, some say it is a site you only need to see once but I know if I ever get a chance I will go back in a heartbeat.Aviary Photo_130172722216651152

My adventure wasn’t book worthy,nor did i discover an ancient untouched city but it was my adventure and I will always remember the amazement I felt. If you ever get the chance have an adventure like I did. It doesn’t have to mean going to an ancient city on a camel but try something new, be amazed because you will feel like a child in a whole new world! A world that is full of wonder and excitement!

xoxo sa3m

