Soon Seoul, Soon.

I’m currently typing this in Seatac airport. Today’s the day that I’m leaving for South Korea. My flight will depart in a few hours to Osaka, Japan, and then the next stop will be Incheon Airport.  In South Korea I’ll be with my fellow students visiting cultural sites, corporate sites, and interact with students from four different universities in the country: Kyung Hee University, Seoul National University, Sunkyungkwan University, and the Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology. There’s not much else to say at this point in the journey, as I’m literally at the flight gate, but I feel like a good introductory post should also give a some background information on the country I’m heading to.

The Department of State describes South Korea as “a highly developed, stable, democratic republic with powers shared between the president and the legislature. Korea is a modern economy where tourist facilities are widely available. English is rarely spoken outside the main tourist and business centers.” The country’s recent history has included years of colonial rule by fascist Japan in the first half of the 20th century, and also caught in the conflict of the Korean war shortly afterward. Despite this fairly recent turmoil, South Korea has emerged an economic powerhouse bearing the recognizable names of companies like Samsung, LG, and Hyundai.

Looks like we’re beginning to board for my flight. See you in Seoul!

