Spring 2014 – New Bloggers

The start of Spring quarter brings new bloggers to our lineup of UW students studying abroad. Our students on semester long exchange will still be blogging but our Winter quarter programs have ended, thank you to our great Winter quarter bloggers, and now we are excited to introduce new bloggers representing a few of our Spring quarter programs!

 

Anderson_Carol

Carol Anderson (crayola6)
CUSP Thailand: Globalization and the Societies of Southeast Asia (UW Program)
Bangkok, Thailand
Spring Quarter, 2014

About me
I am a non-traditional, pre-major student at UW Bothell with an interest in global health studies. I have resided in the Seattle area for about 14 years and also lived and have family in Colorado and Utah. I enjoy learning through reading, art, and experiencing life by putting myself in new situations and accepting challenges.

Where in the world are you off to and what will you be studying?
My study abroad program, Globalization and the Societies of Southeast Asia will be based in Bangkok, Thailand. Our group will travel throughout Southeast Asia into northern Thailand, Cambodia and Laos.

What are you most excited about?
My previous travels abroad have been your typical tourist style vacations, this experience will be very different. I am very excited to be staying for an extended period of time in a foreign country, immersing myself in their culture and working to learn a new language.

What do hope readers will gain from following your posts?
I hope to convey to my readers an understanding, appreciation and respect for a culture that is different from my own.

Kaur_GurpreetGurpreet Kaur (gkaur174)
English in London Spring: Literary London (UW Program)
London, UK
Spring Quarter, 2014

About me
My name is Gurpreet, it means ‘One who loves the enlightener/teacher’, but I usually go by Gia which means vitality. I think both are applicable descriptions of me in their own way. I’m a senior in the English Department and will be graduating in June. I’m a teacher at a small education center in Bothell right now and I work with kids from K-12 so I get to do the ABCs and SATs. I’m not sure if teaching is what I’ll stick with after graduation, though. I’m still trying stuff out and this blog is one of the side projects. I love reading and writing because I love stories (who doesn’t) and I wanted a way to document my time abroad and bring some stories to others who might be traveling or just curious as to what’s out there. I guess the teaching thing is innately part of me because even while I’m traveling and learning, I can’t wait to share it with others.

Where in the world are you off to and what will you be studying?
I’ll be heading off to London this spring. I spent last spring in Rome and completely fell in love with the city and the whole experience of study abroad. That one was with the UW Creative Writing group and they did such a fantastic job putting the program together. I met some truly amazing people who really helped me get my writing and art rolling in a direction I’m excited about and they just became really good friends. Something about reading your poetry to each other really exposes you to vulnerability and really bonds you. I’m hoping to have a similarly fantastic experience in London with the English Department. And I’m trying not to compare everything with the Rome trip, but it’s quite difficult. God, I miss the gelato.

I will be studying architecture, history, and theater while I’m over there. We get to see a play a week! Pretty fantastic. And maybe I’ll run into some famous actor or author. And I’m determined to find Hogwarts. It’s gotta be around there somewhere.

What are you most excited about?
I’m excited about living with a host family. In Rome we got an apartment with a few roommates from the program and I loved that, but now I’m excited to be living with native Londoners and see how they go about things. I got an e-mail from my host family already and they use phrases like “I’ll collect you from the station” and “whilst you are here”. How delightfully British is that! Haha. So I’m already excited about the people. Plus, I’m Indian and Britain and India have had an interesting relationship in the past and I’m curious to see how that’s translated over time. Besides, Indians with British accents, I gottta see that!

What do hope readers will gain from following your posts?
I hope my readers will be just as interested as reading about all the interesting tidbits and stories I collect over my trip as I will be to find them and bring them to their attention. I’ll try to get cool photos and post up sketches I make and poems I write as well if anyone’s interested.

Peterson_SydneySydney Peterson (freetorunwild)
Education Rome: Youth Identity and Education in Italy (UW Program)
Rome, Italy
Spring Quarter, 2014

About me
Hi! I’m Sydney and I’m a junior at the University of Washington. I’m studying early childhood and family studies in the hopes of one day becoming a special education teacher. I absolutely love to travel and this is actually my third study abroad program. Last summer I got to explore eastern Europe, and the Summer of 2012 I studied in Rome and Spain.

Where in the world are you off to and what will you be studying?
Rome, Italy for the UW Program Education Rome: Youth Identity and Education in Italy

What are you most excited about?
Gosh, this is always one of the hardest questions to answer. I’m honestly excited for everything. I’ve been to Rome before on a study abroad program and fell absolutely head over heels in love, so I’m excited to go back. I’m curious to see if I feel the same way about the city after 3 months as I did after two amazing weeks. I’m also just super pumped to be abroad again and travel, I’m actually headed to Ireland for St. Patty’s and then onwards to the United Kingdom before I go to Rome.

What do hope readers will gain from following your posts?
I hope they gain insights of what it’s like to live in another country for a little while. I also really hope that maybe I inspire someone else to take the leap and go, study abroad is one of the best decisions I’ve made in college and I honestly think anyone can benefit on it. It’s as simple as this – get on a plane and go.

Sinnock_KelleyKelley Sinnock (ksinn53)
Italian Studies in Rome and Calabria (UW Program)
Rome and Rogliano, Italy
Spring Quarter, 2014

About me
Hi, my name is Kelley and I am a sophomore studying accounting in the Foster School of Business with a minor in Italian. I am from Stockton, CA, but I’m a Seattleite at heart. I have been studying Italian for six years and am completely obsessed with the language, country, and culture. What fascinates me so much about traveling is being able to see life from a new perspective. I hope to share this new perspective with the UW community through this blog.

Where in the world are you off to and what will you be studying?
I will be in Rome for the first five weeks of my program, then in Rogliano (southern Italy) for the second half. I will continue my Italian language studies while in Italy, along with two Italian culture courses. I also hope to travel around Europe on weekends and after my program.

What are you most excited about?
I am most excited about the opportunity to live in Italy for three months. I have been to Italy twice before, but I think this trip will be completely different. I am looking forward to becoming a “local,” rather than just a tourist. Everyday will be a new adventure; I can’t wait to just “get lost” in Rome.

What do hope readers will gain from following your posts?
I hope to portray my perspective of Italy to my readers. I want them to be able to picture themselves there, and be inspired to study abroad. I also hope to share the cultural differences and similarities between Italy and the US.

