The Wait is Almost Over

Five days from today I will be boarding a plane headed for Barcelona, Spain! [The program I am attending in Rome does not officially start until June 23rd, but my roommate and I are lucky enough to be able to travel in Spain for one week before our classes start.] I could not be more excited for this adventure to begin. Although I’ll be taking two required business classes abroad, International Business and Operations Management, it doesn’t feel like I’m leaving home to attend school – I’m leaving to learn about a new culture, form new and lasting friendships, and make this experience an adventure, all while applying business concepts along the way. It couldn’t be a more perfect opportunity to try something new and put myself out of my comfort zone.

Spending six weeks away from my family and friends seemed like a lifetime when I was first accepted to this program, but now that I’ve thought about how much there really is to explore in Europe, six weeks is nothing. I’ve already caught the travel bug, and I haven’t even left yet! I only hope that in this short amount of time I can do something exciting and memorable every day, and that I return home having held nothing back. I don’t know what to expect, but I do know that this will be a growing and learning experience every step of the way.

I will be staying in a rented apartment with my roommate in Barcelona for one week before flying over to Rome to meet our classmates for the official program. This week will be an opportunity to adjust myself to the new time zone, experience an entirely new culture and language, and reflect on what I want to take away from this trip as a whole. Stay tuned for more about Barcelona and to see what UW students are up to in Italy this summer!