A Brief Recap of my time in Iceland

Baldwin_2_4

View from my hostel’s back staircase with a view of the Hallgrímskirkja church.

 Day 1-

Wanting to travel before settling in Paris, I decided to take advantage of the stop over option at the Iceland airport. To get there, I had a 5 hour flight, then a 2 hour lay-over in Boston, followed by another 5 hour flight! Since the travel time was exhausting, a nap was necessary before going out to see Reykjavik. Luckily, as the above photo shows, my hostel had some nice Icelandic views to enjoy while resting.

Baldwin_2_3

Photo of one of the many murals found on the streets of Reykjavik.

Day 2-

On the second day, two other students from the UW met me at my hostel so that we could explore together during their 9 hour layover. It was great getting to meet them before arriving in Paris. We explored a few main sites with weather that was better than I could have asked for!

 Here is me, next to the Solfar (Sun Voyager) Sculpture.

Next to the Solfar (Sun Voyager) Sculpture.

While meandering around town with my two new friends, we visited the Hallgrímskirkja church, and went up to the top to snap some great photos!

Baldwin_2_1

View from the Hallgrimskirkja Church tower.

I would love to go back and see the natural wonders of Iceland some day! But for now, Paris will do just fine.