Bonjour Paris!

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Bonjour tout le monde!

I am Damin Ko and going to keep you updated about studying abroad in Paris this fall. I always wanted to learn French but I couldn’t fit a french class into my schedule when I was in high school. When I came to UW, the very first class that I registered for was French 101.  Now that I look back, I am glad that I decided to learn French. Otherwise, I wouldn’t have gotten this opportunity to spend a quarter in this beautiful city, Paris.

After the long anticipation plus the 12 hours of flight, I finally arrived at Paris Charles de Gaulle airport. It took about an hour and a half to get to where I will be staying, the 8th arrondissement. Paris is divided into 20 arrondissements. The 8th arrondissement is situated on the right side of the River Seine.

Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

Speaking of the Seine, I went on a boat cruise on the river Seine. The weather was nice and warm. It was a perfect day to get on the boat.

Ko_2_2 Ko_2_4 Processed with VSCOcam with f2 preset

The cruise starts off at the Pont Neuf. Although Pont Neuf means “the New Bridge”, it is the oldest bridge of Paris. Finished in 1606, it was the first bridge in Paris to built with stones. The cruise passes by the famous monuments such as Louvre, Concorde Square, Notre Dame and Eiffel Tower, with a brief explanation from the guide. People on the bridge often waves at you while you are on the cruise. The boat passes by numerous bridges on the Seine. Along with the monuments and buildings, the bridges are aesthetically pleasing to look at.

Also, according to what the guide told us, there is a bridge that if you make a wish and kiss a neighbor under the bridge then you are wish will come true. I am going to keep it secret what I wished for. Believe it or not, give it a try when you visit the Seine. Au revoir!