Final week in London!

Hello all!

So I’m writing this blog post from my comfy couch back home underneath a pile of blankets. I just got back two days ago, and I spent all of yesterday recovering from jet lag. My final week in London was absolutely beautiful and I honestly miss parts of it already. So here’s the final recap of what I did for my last lovely week in London:

For our final official group outing, we went to Harry Potter Studios, which is a train ride away from London. It is a must-see for any Harry Potter fan, all of my friends and I were freaking out from excitement. We had a chance to see some of the sets from the films, such as the Great Hall and the Weasley’s home, which were smaller than they looked onscreen. We also got to see some of the costumes, look at the props, and even see how some of the special effects were created in the film. It was the perfect way to spend our last day of the program, since we were all acting like little kids that were pretending to be wizards or witches.

GreatHall

After Harry Potter studios, we all went out for dinner at a fancy restaurant right next to Tower Bridge. You could actually have a full view of the bridge from the windows. While eating my meal, I was struck by how closely I had bonded with my classmates over the past four weeks. It may sound super cliche, but we started out as strangers and ended up feeling like we had all known each other for years. We did everything with each other. We went to West End stage productions, hung out in each other’s dorm rooms, studied together,  and pretty much visited every tourist attraction in London together. They are what made this experience so special to me, and I was sad to see all of us departing for back home.

So, that’s my final recap of my Exploration Seminar in London. I can honestly say that going on this exploration seminar is one of the best decision I’ve ever made in my life. I’ve learned so much about the potential career fields that I want to look into. But besides that, I’ve gained a whole new appreciation of British AND American culture. I have so many fond memories of this trip, and I’ll miss all of my classmates terribly. London was an absolute blast, and I’m so grateful that I had the opportunity to visit this wonderful city. I don’t see myself ever living there, but I am so thankful for getting to study there, even if it was only for a short time. Thanks for reading my blog guys, it’s been great!Buckingham

Best wishes from this side of the pond,

Annika